Tonga is an archipelago made up of three island groups Tongatapu, Vava'u, and Ha'apai. Recently the three island groups where unified again under one leader in 1845.

Tonga takes much pride into the fact that unlike many other Polynesian nations after European contact, it was never colonized by a foreign nations meaning that it's Tui Tonga Monarchy has had a continued rule over Tonga. Tonga was established as a constitutional monarchy in 1875 and British protectorate in 1900. In 1970 Tonga gained its status as an independent nation. Today Tonga is the only monarchy in the Pacific.

Historically Tui Tonga ruled over the islands and even much of Polynesia. Their influence as well as integration with other Polynesian cultures can be seen in many aspects. Tonga is spelled Toga in Samoan and this spelling is used throughout the site but is pronounced the same in Tonga and Samoa. Regardless of how it is spelled, the word Tonga, Toga, Konga, Koga or Kona means south in several Polynesian Languages.